UPDATE: Eight newspapers drop Coulter in the wake of CPAC remarks

››› ››› RYAN CHIACHIERE

As of March 12, eight newspapers have dropped right-wing pundit Ann Coulter's column after remarks Coulter made at the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC), where she referred to Democratic presidential candidate and former Sen. John Edwards (NC) as a "faggot." On March 8, Media Matters for America published a list of daily newspapers that carried Coulter's column at the time she made her controversial remarks -- as well as the email addresses of the editors of those papers -- and suggested that readers contact the editors to discuss their papers' decisions to carry Coulter's column.

The eighth paper, the Herald & Review of Decatur, Illinois, announced its decision in a March 11 column, in which Herald & Review editor Gary Sawyer cited Coulter's CPAC comments and asserted:

Most of you will think that we're dropping her column in response to that comment. Some will undoubtedly believe that we're caving in to liberals, who have launched what appears to be a national campaign to get newspapers to dump Coulter's column. Others are probably praising us for finally seeing what's wrong with Coulter's column.

Whatever group you find yourself in, you're partially right.

Sawyer further wrote that "questioning someone's sexual orientation in such a vile way goes beyond reasonable comment," adding that "Coulter's column has become a one note symphony." Sawyer also claimed that Coulter "seems to adore the public spotlight a little too much."

As Media Matters has previously noted, seven other newspapers have dropped Coulter's column since her remarks to CPAC, including:

  • The Lancaster New Era (Pennsylvania)
  • The Oakland Press (Michigan)
  • The Mountain Press (Sevierville, Tennessee)
  • The Sanford Herald (North Carolina)
  • The Daily Chronicle (DeKalb, Illinois)
  • The Times (Shreveport, Louisiana)
  • American Press (Lake Charles, Louisiana)

A July 2, 2006, New York Post article about allegations of plagiarism in Coulter's last book, Godless: The Church of Liberalism (Crown Forum, July 2006), reported that her column "is syndicated to more than 100 newspapers." The following is an updated version of the list Media Matters published on March 8 that takes into account newspapers that have dropped Coulter in the wake of her CPAC comments:

Newspaper

State

Editor

Contact

(Palmdale) Antelope Valley Press

CA

Jana Treece

editor@avpress.com

Pasadena Star-News

CA

Steve O'Sullivan

steve.osullivan@sgvn.com

(West Covina) San Gabriel Valley Tribune

CA

Steve Scauzillo

letters.tribune@sgvn.com

Whittier Daily News

CA

Linda Beckman

letters.tribune@sgvn.com

(Yreka) Siskiyou Daily News

CA

Jean Smith

editor@siskiyoudaily.com

(Jacksonville) The Florida Times-Union

FL

Patrick A. Yack

pat.yack@jacksonville.com

The St. Augustine Record

FL

Jim Sutton

editor@staugustinerecord.com

The Villages Daily Sun

FL

Larry Croom

larry.croom@
thevillagesmedia.com

(Canton) Cherokee Tribune

GA

Barbara Jacoby

bjacoby@cherokeetribune.com

Marietta Daily Journal

GA

Joe Kirby

letters@mdjonline.com

(Twin Falls) Times-News

ID

David Cooper

http://www.magicvalley.com/

(Bloomington) Pantagraph

IL

Bill Wills

letters@pantagraph.com

(Carbondale) The Southern Illinoisian

IL

James Bennett

james.bennett@
thesouthern.com

(Joliet) The Herald News

IL

Bill Wimbiscus

heraldnews@scn1.com

(Springfield) The State Journal-Register

IL

Mike Matulis

mike.matulis@sj-r.com

(Gary) The Post-Tribune

IN

Paulette Haddix

editor@post-trib.com

(Warsaw) Times-Union

IN

Gary Gerard

news@timesuniononline.com

Bastrop Daily Enterprise

LA

Mark Rainwater

mrainwater@
bastropenterprise.com

(Jackson) The Clarion Ledger

MS

David Hampton

dhampton@clarionledger.com

(Lumberton) The Robesonian

NC

Donnie Douglas

dbdouglas@carolina.net

(Gallup) Independent

NM

Darrel Beehner

ga11p1nd@cnetco.com

Elko Daily Free Press

NV

Jeffry Mullins

editor@elkodaily.com

Las Vegas Review-
Journal

NV

John Kerr

JKerr@reviewjournal.com

Lancaster Eagle-
Gazette

OH

Antionette Taylor-Thomas

ataylort@nncogannett.com

(Mansfield) News Journal

OH

Carl Hunnell

chunnell@nncogannett.com

The Lawton Constitution

OK

David Hale

paper@sirinet.net

(Greensburg) Pittsburgh Tribune-
Review

PA

Colin McNickle

cmcnickle@tribweb.com

(Uniontown) Herald-
Standard

PA

Paul Sunyak

psunyak@heraldstandard.com

(Wilkes-
Barre) Times-
Leader

PA

Jean LaCoe

jlacoe@timesleader.com

The Denton Record-
Chronicle

TX

Mike Trimble

mtrimble@dentonrc.com

Marshall News Messenger

TX

Phil Latham

platham@coxmnm.com

(New Braunfels) Herald-
Zeitung

TX

Douglas Toney

news@herald-zeitung.com

Plainview Daily Herald

TX

Kevin Lewis

1kevin@
plainviewdailyherald.com

Waco Tribune-Herald

TX

John Young

jyoung@wacotrib.com

(Harrisonburg) Daily News-
Record

VA

Peter Yates

pyates@dnronline.com

(St. Johnsbury) The Caledonian- Record

VT

Dana Gray

grayd@caledonian-record.com

Watertown Daily Times

WI

John McFadden

news1@wdtimes.com

(West Bend) Daily News

WI

Jill Badzinski

dailynews@conleynet.com

Casper Star-Tribune

WY

Clark Walworth

clark.walworth@
casperstartribune.net

Person
Ann Coulter
Stories/Interests
Propaganda/Noise Machine
We've changed our commenting system to Disqus.
Instructions for signing up and claiming your comment history are located here.
Updated rules for commenting are here.