Coulter's "Macaca moment" spurs newspapers to drop column

››› ››› ROB SAVILLO

In the wake of right-wing pundit Ann Coulter's recent remarks at the Conservative Political Action Conference about Democratic presidential candidate John Edwards, at least three newspapers -- The Lancaster New Era (Pennsylvania), The Oakland Press (Michigan), and The Mountain Press (Sevierville, Tennessee) -- have decided to drop Coulter's nationally syndicated column from their opinion pages, according to an article on Editor & Publisher's website.

A July 2, 2006, New York Post article about allegations of plagiarism in Coulter's last book, Godless: The Church of Liberalism (Crown Forum, 2006), reported that her column "is syndicated to more than 100 newspapers." Media Matters for America has compiled a confirmed list of daily newspapers that currently carry Coulter's column:

Newspaper State Editor Contact
(El Centro) Imperial Valley Press* CA Brad Jennings
(Palmdale) Antelope Valley Press CA Jana Treece editor@avpress.com
Pasadena Star-News CA Steve O'Sullivan steve.osullivan@sgvn.com
(West Covina) San Gabriel Valley Tribune CA Steve Scauzillo letters.tribune@sgvn.com
Whittier Daily News CA Linda Beckman letters.tribune@sgvn.com
(Yreka) Siskiyou Daily News CA Jean Smith editor@siskiyoudaily.com
(Jacksonville) The Florida Times-Union FL Patrick A. Yack pat.yack@jacksonville.com
The St. Augustine Record FL Jim Sutton editor
@staugustinerecord.com
The Villages Daily Sun FL Larry Croom larry.croom@
thevillagesmedia.com
(Canton) Cherokee Tribune GA Barbara Jacoby bjacoby@cherokeetribune.com
Marietta Daily Journal GA Joe Kirby letters@mdjonline.com
(Twin Falls) Times-News ID David Cooper http://www.magicvalley.com/
(Bloomington) Pantagraph IL Bill Wills letters@pantagraph.com
(Carbondale) The Southern Illinoisian IL James Bennett james.bennett
@thesouthern.com
(DeKalb) Daily Chronicle Coulter Dropped4 IL Inger Koch
(Decatur) The Herald & Review Coulter Dropped5 IL Dave Dawson
(Joliet) The Herald News IL Bill Wimbiscus heraldnews@scn1.com
(Springfield) The State Journal-Register6 IL Mike Matulis mike.matulis@sj-r.com
(Gary) The Post-Tribune IN Paulette Haddix editor@post-trib.com
(Warsaw) Times-Union IN Gary Gerard news@timesuniononline.com
Bastrop Daily Enterprise LA Mark Rainwater mrainwater
@bastropenterprise.com
(Lake Charles) American Press Coulter Dropped2 LA Brett Downer
(Shreveport) The Times Coulter Dropped1 LA Craig Durrett
(Jackson) The Clarion Ledger MS David Hampton dhampton@clarionledger.com
(Lumberton) The Robesonian NC Donnie Douglas dbdouglas@carolina.net
The Sanford Herald Coulter Dropped3 NC Billy Liggett
(Gallup) Independent NM Darrel Beehner ga11p1nd@cnetco.com
Elko Daily Free Press NV Jeffry Mullins editor@elkodaily.com
Las Vegas Review-
Journal
NV John Kerr JKerr@reviewjournal.com
Lancaster Eagle-
Gazette
OH Antionette Taylor-Thomas ataylort@nncogannett.com
(Mansfield) News Journal OH Carl Hunnell chunnell@nncogannett.com
The Lawton Constitution OK David Hale paper@sirinet.net
(Greensburg) Pittsburgh Tribune-
Review
PA Colin McNickle cmcnickle@tribweb.com
(Uniontown) Herald-
Standard
PA Paul Sunyak psunyak@heraldstandard.com
(Wilkes- Barre) Times-
Leader
PA Jean LaCoe jlacoe@timesleader.com
The Denton Record-
Chronicle
TX Mike Trimble mtrimble@dentonrc.com
Marshall News Messenger TX Phil Latham platham@coxmnm.com
(New Braunfels) The Herald-
Zeitung
Coulter Dropped5
TX Douglas Toney
Plainview Daily Herald TX Kevin Lewis 1kevin
@plainviewdailyherald.com
The Waco Tribune-Herald Coulter Dropped5 TX John Young
(Harrisonburg) Daily News-
Record
VA Peter Yates pyates@dnronline.com
(St. Johnsbury) The Caledonian- Record VT Dana Gray grayd@caledonian-record.com
Watertown Daily Times WI John McFadden news1@wdtimes.com
(Waukesha) The Freeman6 WI Bill Yorth byorth@conleynet.com
(West Bend) Daily News WI Jill Badzinski dailynews@conleynet.com
Casper Star-Tribune WY Clark Walworth clark.walworth
@casperstartribune.net

Readers may want to contact the editors of these newspapers to discuss the papers' decisions to carry Coulter's column. Readers may also contact Media Matters if they know of newspapers that carry Coulter's column that are not on this list.

1 The Times of Shreveport has also dropped Coulter's column.

2Update: Brett Downer, editor of the American Press, informed Media Matters for America on March 8 that the newspaper "dropped Ann Coulter on Monday," three days after Coulter made her comments.

3Update: Billy Liggett, editor of The Sanford Herald of North Carolina, informed Media Matters on March 9 that the newspaper "will no longer run Coulter's column."

4Update: The DeKalb, Illinois, Daily Chronicle released a statement on March 9 announcing that Coulter was "no longer welcome in the Chronicle," as Media Matters noted.

5Media Matters noted on June 15, 2007, that these papers had also dropped Coulter's column.

6Media Matters noted on June 15, 2007, that these papers had added Coulter's column.

Correction: 

1

Person
Ann Coulter
Stories/Interests
John Edwards, 2008 Elections
We've changed our commenting system to Disqus.
Instructions for signing up and claiming your comment history are located here.
Updated rules for commenting are here.